Source-linked mortgage category
Ontario first mortgage rates
A first mortgage has the first registered claim against the property. That position alone does not make the records equivalent: a prime insured purchase, an alternative refinance and a short-term private first mortgage can have different qualification standards, fees and exit assumptions. This page is the first position-focused SEO slice because the repository contains a substantial set of explicitly labelled first-position records and enough fields to explain why their headline rates should not be ranked as interchangeable offers.
- Keep purpose, occupancy, property type and required LTV consistent before comparing rates.
- Separate standard amortizing products from short-term private or interest-only structures.
- Use the published qualification row and stated fees instead of assuming the lowest row applies.
- Published pricing rows
- 1001
- Distinct products
- 747
- Lenders / maximum LTV
- 90 / 95%
- Latest record
- October 19, 2026
What this category can and cannot answer
The inventory can show published rate rows, terms, positions, LTV ceilings, property or qualification wording, fees and source dates. It cannot determine approval, current lender discretion or city-level availability where the source only states Ontario.
- Positions shown
- First mortgage, First, First or second mortgage
- Term range
- 6–300 months
- Comparison path
- Open these filters in the full comparison
Published product records
Ordered by smallest displayed rate for scanning, not suitability.
| Lender | Product | Displayed rate | Term | Position | Maximum LTV | Rate / verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| THINK Financial | Rate Relief 6 Month Introductory Term | 2.49% 6-month Rate Relief introductory term | 6 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| nesto | 5 Year Insured Variable Mortgage | 3.41% 5-year insured variable | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated October 12, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| Meridian Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Variable High Ratio | 3.44% · Prime − 1.01% | 60 months | First | 95% | Checked October 15, 2026 |
| Mainstreet Credit Union | 5 Year Closed High-Ratio Variable | 3.45% 5-year closed high-ratio variable | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 15, 2026 |
| PenFinancial Credit Union | 1 Year Fixed Special With Non-Renewal Fee | 3.49% 1-year fixed special | 12 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| Marathon Mortgage | 5 Year Adjustable Rate | Prime − 0.95% | 60 months | First | 95% | Checked October 15, 2026 |
| Equitable Bank | 5 Year EQB Evolution Suite Adjustable | 3.60% interest · 3.650% APR · Equitable Prime − 0.85% | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| nesto | 3 Year Insured Variable | 3.60% 3-year insured variable | 36 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated August 27, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| Meridian Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Variable | 3.64% · Prime − 0.81% | 60 months | First | Not stated | Checked October 15, 2026 |
| Northern Birch Credit Union | 5 Year High-Ratio Insured Variable Special | 3.65% 5-year high-ratio insured variable | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| Pine | 5 Year Insured Adjustable | 3.65% 5-year insured adjustable | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated September 29, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Alterna Bank | 5 Year Smart Start High-Ratio Variable Closed | 3.70% interest · 3.74% APR | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated July 13, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Alterna Savings | 5 Year Smart Start High-Ratio Variable Closed | 3.70% interest · 3.74% APR | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated July 13, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| First National Financial LP | Adjustable — Insured | Prime - 0.75% (3.70%) | 60 months | First | 95% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| IG Wealth Management | Promotional 5 Year Variable Range | 3.70% - 4.14% | 60 months | First | Not stated | Dated October 12, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| Mainstreet Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Variable | 3.70% 5-year closed variable | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 15, 2026 |
| Oshawa Community Credit Union | 5 Year New-Money Closed Variable Special | Prime - 0.75% (3.70% at published Prime 4.45%) | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| The Police Credit Union | 5 Year Closed High-Ratio Variable | 3.70% interest · 3.748% APR | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| First National Financial LP | Adjustable — Insurable up to 65% LTV | Prime - 0.70% (3.75%) | 60 months | First | 65% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| Your Neighbourhood Credit Union | 5 Year High-Ratio Closed Variable | 3.80% · YNCU Prime − 0.65% | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 1, 2026 |
| RBC Royal Bank | 5 Year Variable Closed — High Ratio | RBC Prime − 0.600% (3.850%) | 60 months | First | 95% | Dated October 15, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | Low Rate Mortgage — Insured High Ratio — 5 Year Adjustable | 3.90% | 60 months | First | 95% | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| Tangerine Bank | 5 Year Variable Mortgage | 3.90% 5-year variable | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 15, 2026 |
| First National Financial LP | Adjustable — Insurable 65.01%–70% LTV | Prime - 0.50% (3.95%) | 60 months | First | 70% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| Oshawa Community Credit Union | Half-Percent-Below-Prime Variable Mortgage | Prime - 0.50% (3.95% at published Prime 4.45%) | Not stated | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| The Police Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Conventional Variable | 3.95% interest · 3.998% APR | 60 months | First mortgage | 80% | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| BAY Credit Union | 3 Year Insured Closed Special | 3.99% 3-year insured closed special | 36 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated July 28, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Marathon Mortgage | 6 Month Fixed | 3.99% | 6 months | First | 95% | Checked October 15, 2026 |
| WFCU Credit Union | 3 Year Fixed High-Ratio Special | 3.99% APR · 3-year fixed high-ratio special | 36 months | First or second mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| First National Financial LP | Adjustable — Insurable 70.01%–75% LTV | Prime - 0.45% (4.00%) | 60 months | First | 75% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| First National Financial LP | Adjustable — Insurable 75.01%–80% LTV | Prime - 0.41% (4.04%) | 60 months | First | 80% | Dated August 31, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| Oshawa Community Credit Union | 3 Year New-Money Closed Fixed Special | 4.04% 3-year new-money closed fixed special | 36 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| Strive Capital | 5 Year Adjustable Rate | Prime − 0.41% | 60 months | First | 80% | Dated September 26, 2026Verified October 1, 2026 |
| CIBC | 5 Year Variable Flex — High Ratio Special | 4.05% special | 60 months | First | Not stated | Dated October 16, 2026Verified October 16, 2026 |
| Oshawa Community Credit Union | 5 Year New-Money Closed Fixed Conventional Special | 4.09% 5-year new-money conventional fixed special | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| Oshawa Community Credit Union | 5 Year New-Money Closed Fixed Insured Special | 4.09% 5-year new-money insured fixed special | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| BMO | 5 Year Variable Closed Special | 4.10% · BMO Prime − 0.35% (APR 4.12%) | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 16, 2026 |
| Desjardins | 5 Year Closed Reduced Variable Special | 4.10% 5-year closed reduced variable special | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| SBI Canada Bank | 5 Year Closed Variable Mortgage | SBIC CAD Prime - 0.35% (4.10% at published 4.45% Prime) | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated October 30, 2025Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Alterna Bank | 5 Year Signature Variable Closed | 4.15% interest · 4.19% APR | 60 months | First mortgage | 80% | Dated October 31, 2025Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Alterna Savings | 5 Year Signature Variable Closed | 4.15% interest · 4.19% APR | 60 months | First mortgage | 80% | Dated October 31, 2025Verified October 19, 2026 |
| CIBC | 3 Year Variable Flex — Special | 4.15% special | 36 months | First | Not stated | Dated October 16, 2026Verified October 16, 2026 |
| DUCA Credit Union | Low Rate Mortgage — Insured High Ratio — 3 Year Adjustable | 4.15% | 36 months | First | 95% | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| Libro Credit Union | 5 Year Closed Variable | From 4.15% · Libro Prime − 0.30% | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated August 18, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| RBC Royal Bank | 5 Year Variable Closed — Special, 25 years or less | RBC Prime − 0.300% (4.150%) | 60 months | First | Not stated | Dated October 15, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| SBI Canada Bank | 3 Year Featured Closed Fixed Mortgage | 4.15% 3-year featured closed fixed | 36 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| Luminus Financial | 5 Year Fixed Mortgage | From 4.19% for 5-year fixed | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 30, 2026 |
| Moya Financial Credit Union | 5 Year Closed High-Ratio Mortgage | Starting at 4.19% 5-year closed high-ratio | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated August 4, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Resurrection Credit Union | 1 Year Closed Fixed Mortgage | 4.19% 1-year closed fixed | 12 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated July 9, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| St. Stanislaus–St. Casimir's Polish Parishes Credit Union | 3 Year Closed Residential First Mortgage | 4.19% 3-year closed | 36 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| CIBC | 5 Year Variable Flex — Special | 4.20% special | 60 months | First | Not stated | Dated October 16, 2026Verified October 16, 2026 |
| MCAN Home | Precision Prime — 5 Year Adjustable Rate | Prime − 0.25% | 60 months | First | 80% | Dated September 30, 2026Verified September 30, 2026 |
| SBI Canada Bank | 5 Year Featured Closed Fixed Mortgage | 4.20% 5-year featured closed fixed | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| THINK Financial | No Commitment 5 Year Open Variable | THINK Prime − 0.25% · 4.20% at current 4.45% prime | 60 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked September 29, 2026 |
| First National Financial LP | Adjustable — Conventional | Prime - 0.21% (4.24%) | 60 months | First | Not stated | Dated September 29, 2026Verified October 15, 2026 |
| Alterna Bank | 3 Year Signature Variable Closed | 4.25% interest · 4.31% APR | 36 months | First mortgage | 80% | Dated October 31, 2025Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Golden Horseshoe Credit Union | 3 Year Closed First Mortgage | 4.25% 3-year closed first mortgage | 36 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated October 15, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| Oshawa Community Credit Union | 2 Year New-Money Closed Fixed Special | 4.25% 2-year new-money closed fixed special | 24 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Checked October 19, 2026 |
| RBC Royal Bank | 5 Year Variable Closed — Special, greater than 25 years | RBC Prime − 0.200% (4.250%) | 60 months | First | Not stated | Dated October 15, 2026Verified October 19, 2026 |
| SBI Canada Bank | 3 Year Closed Variable Mortgage | SBIC CAD Prime - 0.20% (4.25% at published 4.45% Prime) | 36 months | First mortgage | Not stated | Dated October 30, 2025Verified October 19, 2026 |
Public research used for comparison guidance
- Financial Consumer Agency of Canada — interest on mortgages opens in a new tab
Canadian consumer guidance on fixed and variable interest structures.
- Financial Consumer Agency of Canada — prepayment penalties opens in a new tab
Canadian guidance on charges that can matter when comparing mortgage terms.
- Consumer Financial Protection Bureau — compare loan estimates opens in a new tab
United States comparison guidance used only as an information-design benchmark for keeping rate, fees and time horizon together.